Sunday, September 04, 2005

Introduction!

I am Travis Dean. I am making this as an honest record of my everyday life. My goal is to be able to use this as a tool to reflect on my actions and decisions and to help guide me in what I will do tomorrow.

I am 20 years old, and I live in Greeley, Colorado. My town is too big for me. My job pays too little. I currently have to borrow rides from friends and relatives to get anywhere, or hop onto the bus.

Today, I rode the bus down to my parents' house. My da broke his leg by falling over on his motorcycle in a parking lot. He is more annoyed at the injury than hurt, and he worries more for his motorcycle than he worries for himself. Still, a visit was necessary. Too, they have my vehicle in their back yard, and I need to replace the starter solenoid in it so that I can have a drivable car again.

The buses are very confusing. It took me two hours to get from my house to my parents' house, and that is only 10 miles away. But, the buses only cost $1 to get to where you are trying to go. That beats the $1.35~ that I would be paying normally for the gas required for the one way trip. They might be worth the effort to learn all of the routes. If I sold my car, I would make a lot of money, and save a lot of money at the same time.

So, my family lives in the city next to mine, and my aunt lives near my place. My best friend lives down by my parents, and my other friends are scattered all over Evans. I know almost nobody in my area, but the rent is cheap.

I am interested in a girl who lives near me. I haven't treated her as I should, but it's mostly out of my inability to offer her what I'd like to. We get allong fine, but I find myself incapable of stepping over that invisible line that separates friend from partner. I feel like she's interested in me, and she always accepts when I ask her to come hang out. But, I do not have a working vehicle, I do not have any money, and I'm not very good with the spoken word.

I have a job doing reposession work for a car financing company. The job market here is pretty poor, and I'm paid at what is called a "competative wage", which I suspect is just low enough that people will still apply. Often times, I have looked for a second job, because my job will not allow me to work overtime. I also will not be paid for not being able to work on Labor Day.

I will stop this entry here.